Six Northern Novels

One Winter

One Spring

One Summer

One Autumn

Two Seasons

What other writers have said about the Ashurst series so far

Three Good Years


To order

From an early age growing up in South Lancashire, I was always aware of the old saying about work, They could write a book about this place. It would be a best seller. It was certainly true of the BICC factory at Prescot whose gates I first walked through in 1957. The initials stood for British Insulated Callenders Cables but they could just as easily have stood for the Biggest Individual Collection of Comedians. When I worked there so did seventeen thousand others, but today all traces of its existence have gone. However what remains with me are many good memories of my old work mates and what was once made and done there.

I spent most of my working life as a draughtsman at firms in Lancashire, Yorkshire and in London in the Sixties for six years. I enjoyed the work and I enjoyed meeting many characters too and so in 1988 I decided that I could write a book based around my own life and times.

Tales of a Northern Draughtsman was set during that terrible winter of 1962/63 in a fictional town called Ashurst, near to St Helens, Warrington, Wigan and Leigh. The main character is a young draughtsman three days older than I was with an interest in romance, rock n roll and rugby league. It took me eight years to complete, only writing at night and after being at work all day. Two years later I finally found a publisher who liked what I had written but changed the title to One Winter.

The pages that follow tell you a little more about the six novels and include comments that others have made about them. If you want to tell me what you think of my material, you can contact me at I am always keen to get feedback.

There are also details of how to purchase a copy of One Winter, One Autumn, Two Seasons and Three Good Years. One Spring and One Summer are currently out of print but my publisher, London League Publications now has plans to turn the whole series into E-books.